Mobile Film Festival Finalists

| Print |

MFF Finalists Screenshot

The Mobile Film Festival and the United Nations are inviting the general public to vote for their favourite one-minute film on climate change. 76 films from 27 countries have been unveiled as this year’s finalists.

The general public has until midnight on 30 November to discover the originality, creativity, and sometimes hard-hitting films addressing issues relating to climate change. By voting for your favourite movie you could be in with a chance of winning a tablet, a smartphone, Amazon vouchers and much more.

The festival received close to 765 films from over 70 countries, all filmed on mobile phones. The participants used different film genres such as comedy, horror, drama and science fiction to create their movies. The festival is organised in partnership with the United Nations and COP21, which is being held from 30 November to 12 December in Paris.

All 76 films are available on the mobile film festival’s website. Voting is open until midnight on 30 November. The films are subtitled in English.

Selected films are also available on Social Media:

Among the finalists are films from: Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, Comoros, China, Ecuador, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Iran, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya, FYROM, Malaysia, Mexico, Portugal, Russia, Senegal, South Korea, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Turkey, UK and the USA.

On Monday, December 7, an awards ceremony will take place in Paris at the Gaumont Champs Elysees where the 76 films will be screened and rewarded.

The final judges are:

  • Fernando Meirelles, Oscar-nominated director (City of God)
  • Yacine Ait Kaci, creator of Elyx, the UN's first virtual ambassador (Elyx)
  • Hicham Ayouch, Moroccan director, winner of the Yennenga Stallion, Fespaco 2015 (fevers)
  • Jimmy Jean-Louis, actor and model, known for his role as the "Haitian" in the NBC series Heroes
  • Zabou Breitman, French actress, Cesar for best director

Sponsors BNP Paribas will reward the winner of the Grand Prix with € 30,000 for the production of a short film.The jury will also reward the best screenplay, best actor and best actress. Place to B, a coworking space in Paris, will present an award for bloggers.